European Cooperation in Science and Technology

This version of our website has been archived in 3 November of 2017. Information is no longer being updated. Please refer to the current version found at www.lmt.lt/en/

European Cooperation in Science and Technology (COST) is one of the longest-running European instruments supporting cooperation among scientists and researchers across Europe. COST is also the first and widest European intergovernmental network for coordination of nationally funded research activities.

It is the oldest European networking system in research, established in 1971. Currently, it consists of 35 Member Countries and one cooperating state:

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and United Kingdom. Israel is sometimes considered a 36’th participant (as a cooperating state).

Lithuania is participating in the COST programme as a member since a year 1999, with Lithuanian Research Council responsible for its administration.

Rather than funding research itself, COST brings together research teams in different countries working on specific topics, supporting networking, conferences, short-term scientific exchanges and publications. The coordination activities are supported from the EU RTD Framework Programme.

One of the main characteristics of COST is its flexibility: there are no set areas for co-operation, but scientists themselves put forward proposals for COST Actions (bottom-up principle). Only five member countries need to participate, although in some Actions research teams from three to five times that number are involved ("à la carte" principle).

COST continues to play a substantial role in the development of scientific and technical cooperation in Europe as an important pillar in the European Research Area.


For more information please visit the “Useful links” subsection, while for matters related to this programme from Lithuania perspective please contact senior specialist dr. Audrius Žvikas, (+370) 52107396, audrius.zvikas@lmt.lt.


With the aim to offer comprehensive services on our website, we request your permission to allow sending and saving certain information, i.e. cookies, into your computer. Cookies will be used to identify you as a former website visitor and to record statistics on website visitation data. You may at any time see what information (cookies) we are sending. You may withdraw your consent at any time by changing Internet browsing settings and removing the entered cookies. Also you have the right not to give consent for the cookies to be sent and saved in your computer (device); however, in this case certain website functions might become unavailable to you.
For more information about the cookies and how they can be removed, please see here.

To save cookies: Disabled Agree