European Science Foundation

This version of our website has been archived in 3 November of 2017. Information is no longer being updated. Please refer to the current version found at www.lmt.lt/en/

Established in 1974, the European Science Foundation (ESF) is an association of 67 (as of 2013) member organisations devoted to scientific research in 29 European countries. It is an independent, non-governmental, non-profit organisation that facilitates cooperation and collaboration in European research and development, European science policy and science strategy. The ESF offices are in Strasbourg, France (headquarters), and in Brussels and Ostend, Belgium.

ESF is directed by 5 permanent Committees, which consists of prominent scientists nominated in to position by each member state. The Committees guide the scientific objectives and strategies of the organisation, in addition to performing scientific analysis. Biomedicine sciences are represented by European Medical Research Councils.

The ESF Member Organisations are research-performing and research-funding organisations, academies and learned societies across Europe. Together they represent an annual funding of about €25 billion.

More information about ESF is available on its homepage.



With the aim to offer comprehensive services on our website, we request your permission to allow sending and saving certain information, i.e. cookies, into your computer. Cookies will be used to identify you as a former website visitor and to record statistics on website visitation data. You may at any time see what information (cookies) we are sending. You may withdraw your consent at any time by changing Internet browsing settings and removing the entered cookies. Also you have the right not to give consent for the cookies to be sent and saved in your computer (device); however, in this case certain website functions might become unavailable to you.
For more information about the cookies and how they can be removed, please see here.

To save cookies: Disabled Agree